French West Africa (1943-59)

Stamp-issuing status: inactive; Population: 18 million (1959 estimate). Former French administrative unit comprising the African colonies of Senegal, French Guinea, Ivory Coast, Dahomey, French Sudan, Mauritania, Niger and Upper Volta. Although French West Africa was formed in 1895 as an administrative unit, the various colonies continued to issue their own stamps until 1943, when French West African issues came into use. These, in turn, were replaced by the separate issues of the territories as they became republics during 1958-59.

from Linn's:
Reference: Stamp Issuing Entities: F